I'm looking for...

That is

Past Events

34th Annual National Philanthropy Day Luncheon

Hyatt Regency - Dallas

Hosted by The Greater Dallas Chapter of Association of Fundraising Professionals (AFP), Dallas’ National Philanthropy Day celebration brings together area nonprofits, volunteers, funders, foundations, business and community members to honor many of this city’s finest who give selflessly in support of numerous worthy causes. Luncheon chair is Janet Sherlip.

The 2019 honorees are:

Outstanding Philanthropist Donna Wilhelm, a visionary leader and strong supporter of the arts, culture, and education (Nominated by World Affairs Council of Dallas/Fort Worth)

Outstanding Volunteer Fundraiser Michal Powell, a passionate fundraiser for faith-based, medical, humanitarian, and arts-focused causes (Nominated by The Salvation Army North Texas Command)

Outstanding Fundraising Executive Cindy Scott, CFRE, a professional and successful fundraiser, benefiting people of Dallas and beyond for more than 30 years (Nominated by Parkland Foundation)

Outstanding Foundation Harry S. MossTrust, supporting excellence in heart research and treatment to the local community and the world (Nominated by UT Southwestern Medical Center)

Outstanding Corporation Texas Capital Bank, bettering the lives of others through a charitable program supporting more than 100 nonprofits (Nominated by Parkland Foundation)

Outstanding Youth in Philanthropy Ashlyn Duy, a grateful former patient and loyal supporter of Children’s Health who has raised $31,170 in four Red Balloon Children Helping Children Tennis Tournaments to help other children. (Nominated by Children's Medical Center Foundation)

The Greater Dallas Chapter of AFP was among the first to begin celebrating National Philanthropy Day in 1985.  Today, more than 500 attend the luncheon which includes AFP members and community leaders.  National Philanthropy Day celebrates the great contributions philanthropy, and those who work in the philanthropic process, make to our community. AFP Chapters involve more than 28,000 individuals in celebrating philanthropy each year.  

The AFP Dallas Chapter sponsor is Texas Capital Bank. Luncheon Sponsors to date are Philanthropy Sponsors ($5,000):  UT Southwestern Medical Center and Southwestern Medical Foundation, co-sponsors of the Outstanding Foundation Award; and Community Sponsors ($2,500): Children’s Health; KERA and World Affairs Council, co-sponsors.

The luncheon will be emceed by longtime partner Scott Murray of Murray Media, an in-kind sponsor of the luncheon. Murray Media produces the luncheon videos featuring the accomplishments of each award recipient.  

“National Philanthropy Day is a day to remember and recognize the impact philanthropy – charitable giving, volunteering and engagement – has made in our world,” said Luncheon Chair Janet Sherlip. “This day was first celebrated nationally in 1986 in the U.S. with a proclamation from President Ronald Reagan.  We hope you will join us in paying tribute to those who make the city of Dallas such a vibrant philanthropic community.”

Luncheon tickets are $95, $950 for a table of 10, and $1,250 for a premium table of 10.  For tickets and sponsorships, visit afpdallas.org or contact Madeleine Crouch at 972-233-9107, ext. 204, [email protected]



Official Site  

  • $95
Box Office
  • 972-233-9107

300 Reunion Blvd. · Dallas, TX 75207