KERA Arts Story Search

Looking for events? Click here for the Go See DFW events calendar.

Nominate An Arts Advocate For These Awards

by Miguel Perez 5 Jun 2017 11:57 AM

Business Council for the Arts needs nominations for notable arts supporters for upcoming Obelisk Awards


The Business Council for the Arts (BCA) is looking for companies and individuals making noteworthy contributions to the local art scene for the 2017 Obelisk Awards

The annual awards, now in their 29th year, recognize local business, nonprofit and arts leaders making a difference in the growth of arts and culture in North Texas. Categories include the Arts Education Award, the Business Champion for the Arts Award, and the Visionary Nonprofit Arts Leader Award. 

In 2016, honorees included the Dallas Film Society; Mark Roglán, director of the Meadows Museum; and Zenetta Drew, executive director of Dallas Black Dance Theatre.

The deadline for nominations is June 21, and an awards luncheon will take place Nov. 15 at the Belo Mansion.

Here’s the full list of award categories, courtesy of BCA:

For Businesses

  • The New Initiatives Award recognizes businesses for supporting an innovative arts/cultural program created within the past three years. Awards are given to one large, medium and small business each.
  • The Arts Partnerships Award recognizes businesses that have provided sustained support to an arts/cultural organization for three or more years. Awards are given to one large, medium and small business each. A business may only win the Arts Partnership Award once every two years.
  • The Arts Education Award recognizes one outstanding business for its support of arts education programs.

For Individual Business Leaders

  • The Business Champion for the Arts Award recognizes long-term leadership and commitment to arts/culture by a business executive (president, CEO, partner).
  • The Outstanding Leadership Arts Alumnus Award recognizes outstanding board leadership and commitment by a graduate of the Leadership Arts Institute.

For Individual Arts/Cultural Leaders:

  • The Visionary Nonprofit Arts Leader Award recognizes an arts leader who has consistently demonstrated vision, impact, innovation, and successful alignment with business and community partners throughout their tenure.

For Nonprofit Arts/Cultural Organizations

  • The Distinguished Cultural Organization Award is given by Neiman Marcus to recognize one outstanding nonprofit organization for a project or program that has enhanced the community through partnership with a business.