KERA Arts Story Search

Looking for events? Click here for the Go See DFW events calendar.

TheaterJones Introduces All Van Cliburn Competitors

by 24 May 2013 10:56 AM

Art&Seek’s partnering with during the Van Cliburn competition. Here’s their look at all 30 competitors, plus details on how to attend.


Art&Seek and TheaterJones  are partnering up during the Van Cliburn competition. Earlier today, we posted Stephen Becker’s profile of Alex McDonald, the Plano native who is vying for this year’s title.  Here are links to bios of each competitor on Theater Jones and details about this year’s competition.


They were chosen from 132 applicants who auditioned for a five-member screening jury in Hong Kong, Hanover, Moscow, Milan, New York and Fort Worth in January and February, 2013.

The 2013 Cliburn Competition competitors hail from all over the world, representing 12 countries: the United States (7), Italy (6), Russia (5), China (3), Ukraine (2), Australia, Chile, France, Japan, South Korea, Poland and Taiwan. They range in age from 19 to 30. 

TICKETS: For additional information about and to purchase tickets for the Fourteenth Van Cliburn International Piano Competition in Fort Worth, visit

JURY: Maestro John Giordano (United States) will serve as chairman of the jury for his eleventh competition since he assumed the post in 1973. Other jury members include: Dmitri Alexeev (Russia), Michel Beroff (France), Andrea Bonatta (Italy), Richard Dyer (United States), Joseph Kalichstein (Israel), Yoheved Kaplinsky (Israel), Liu Shih Kun (China), Minoru Nojima (Japan), Menahem Pressler (United States), Blanca Uribe (Colombia), Arie Vardi (Israel), and Xian Zhang (China).

WEBCAST: For those who cannot attend the Competition, all performances will be streamed live in their entirety and available on-demand at, making it possible for virtually anyone anywhere to experience the music. We will also stream the webcast in our TheaterJones special section.

The Fourteenth Van Cliburn International Piano Competition will take place May 24-June 9, 2013, at Fort Worth’s Bass Performance Hall and will welcome 30 of the world’s finest pianists to Texas. Continuing its longstanding commitment to new music, the Cliburn has selected composer Christopher Theofanidis to write the commissioned work that will be performed by all competitors during the Semifinal Round. Additionally, the competition has been dedicated to showcasing both the extraordinary talent of its competitors in recital performance as well as their ability to collaborate with other musicians. The Fourteenth Competition will mark the first Cliburn appearance by the world-renowned Brentano String Quartetperforming a piano quintet with each of the 12 semifinalists. The Fort Worth Symphony Orchestrawhich has appeared at every Cliburn Competition, will perform two concerti with each of the six finalists, under the baton of Maestro Leonard Slatkin for the first time.