KERA Arts Story Search

Looking for events? Click here for the Go See DFW events calendar.

The Writers Studio is Back on KERA Starting Thursday Night

by Anne Bothwell 8 Feb 2012 3:26 PM

Louis Begley kicks off the series Thursday night at 8 p.m. on KERA FM. Next week: Junot Diaz


The Writers Studio returns to KERA FM on Thursdays at 8 p.m., starting Feb. 9. We at Art&Seek are excited to be presenting this popular literary series created and produced by our friends at the Writers Garret.

Inspired by Bravo’s Inside the Actors Studio, The Writers Studio brings to Dallas the world’s most accomplished writers for an intimate look at their work. A virtual “Who’s Who” of the literary world, Studio authors have included Alice Walker, Junot Diaz, Louise Erdrich, Joan Didion, Umberto Eco, Maxine Hong Kingston, Candace Bushnell, Ernest Gaines, Julia Alvarez, and many others.

Uniquely, The Writers Studio is both an event and an educational experience. Hosts Randy Gordon and Catherine Cuellar involve the audience in the life and art of being a writer through a combination of interview and audience Q&A. Episodes are taped for radio broadcast on KERA and NPR affiliates.

Next week: Junot Diaz! Go here for a complete schedule.

Here’s a little more about Louis Begley:

Louis Begley. Credit: Jerry Bauer

A Holocaust Survivor born in Poland, Begley is the author of Wartime Lies, The Man Who Was Late, As Max Saw It, About Schmidt, Mistler’s Exit, Schmidt Delivered, Das Gelobte Land, Venedig unter vier Augen (with Anka Muhlstein, Shipwreck, Matters of Honor, and numerous essays and articles.  About Schmidt was made into a Jack Nicholson film. He is a Harvard graduate and his prizes include The Irish Times-Aer Lingus International Fiction Prize, National Book Award Finalist, National Book Critics’ Circle Finalist, PEN/Ernest Hemingway Foundation Award, Prix Médicis Étranger, Jeanette-Schocken-Preis, Bremerhavener Bürgerpreis für Literatur, American Academy of Letters Award in Literature, Konrad Adenauer-Stiftung Literaturpreis, past President PEN American Center; and Chevalier, Ordre des Arts et Lettres.